Breaking news for patients with osteoarthritis!

Enhance Biomedical sponsors Taipei Veterans General Hospital on clinical trial "Cell therapy with peripheral blood stem cell in Osteoarthritis" and has received phase I approval, entering patients or volunteers enrollment stage. It will provide new options for patients with osteoarthritis!


Osteoarthritis (also known as degenerative arthritis) is one of the most common chronic degenerative diseases. It is also a persistent lesion of articular cartilage that often affects the knee joint, causing its articular cartilage to deteriorate over time. According to Taiwan Ministry of Health and Welfare, the prevalence of knee joint degeneration is about 15%, and about 3.5 million people suffer from joint pain. The proportion of osteoarthritis in the United States over the age of 65 accounts for about 74% of the total population (Baird, Schmeiser, & Yehle, 2003). According to the World Health Organization's 1998 report, in 2025 nearly 25% of the world's population will be inconvenient due to bone and joint problems.


As the average lifespan of modern people is increasing, it is almost inevitable that osteoarthritis will occur throughout life. How to reduce or cure osteoarthritis and be able to enjoy normal life and exercise again has become an important issue. The current conservative methods for the treatment of osteoarthritis are limited to basic drug analgesia, health care products, hyaluronic acid injection, platelet-rich plasma injection, etc., all of which can only provide temporary pain relief; and aggressive methods such as whole joint replacement involves long postoperative recovery time and high risk, and the service life of the replaced joint is only 15 years, can't be done once and for all. Whereas autologous cartilage repair requires two operations, and the tolerance of the tissue structure is very limited, and it is easy to cause damage to other parts.

Now, cell therapy with peripheral blood stem cell in osteoarthritis is expected to bring better results! The mechanism is that the peripheral blood stem cells contain different variety of cells such as mesenchymal stem cells, hematopoietic stem cells, precursor cells, etc. These cells are multipotent stem cells with differentiation ability. Mesenchymal stem cells are powerful tools for repairing cartilage tissue because they can differentiate into many connective tissues, such as fat, cartilage, osteoblasts, etc. They also have self-renewal ability, plasticity and anti-inflammatory effects, and are suitable for joint cavity injection for osteoarthritis; hematopoietic stem cells are the main components of blood making, bone marrow and immune system, such as red blood cells that transport oxygen, platelets that help to coagulate, white blood cells that fight infection, lymphocytes that produce antibodies, etc.; precursor cells effectively repair and renew damaged cells.


Past studies have proved that injection of granulocyte colony-stimulating factor (G-CSF) can increase the number of stem cells in peripheral blood, and it has been clinically proven that peripheral blood stem cells as a cell therapy is a clinically convenient and safe treatment. In February 2012, Enhance Biomedical cooperated with Taipei Veterans General Hospital on “Cell therapy with G-CSF-mobilized stem cell in osteoarthritis disease pre-clinical trial” and moved into clinical trial in February 2013. In March 2014, Enhance Biomedical published the animal experiment results paper "Cell therapy with G-CSF mobilized stem cells in a rat osteoarthritis model" in online International Journal “Cell Transplantation”. This paper proves that injection of G-CSF can increase the number of stem cells in rats peripheral blood. Also, the peripheral blood stem cells of this rat are firstly collected and frozen, and then thawed into the knee joint of rats suffering osteoarthritis. It’s proved that it helps to repair rats knee osteoarthritis. In addition, the results also indicated that hyaluronic acid plus autologous peripheral blood stem cells inhibited the deterioration of osteoarthritis in rats in vitro compared to rats using hyaluronic acid alone.


In addition to positive results in animal experiments, human trials have similar evidence. In 2010, a Malaysian research team began clinical trials using arthroscopic surgery to drill holes in damaged knee cartilage tissue, injecting G-CSF-mobilized peripheral blood stem cells (gm-PBSC) and assessing postoperative recovery through MRI scans. The results published in 2013 showed that the subject's cartilage regeneration was good, and its quality was close to that of normal cartilage tissue, which effectively reduced the wear and tear between the hard bones due to cartilage loss; also, there were no cell-related adverse reactions found. Through the above experience, it shows that peripheral blood stem cells have significant effectiveness in the course of treatment. The volume and quality of cartilage regeneration can be restored to near normal cartilage tissue, and the use of peripheral blood stem cells as a source of cartilage regeneration is safe.


Therefore, based on the positive results of similar human trials in the past and our past pre-clinical trial experience of rat knee osteoarthritis treatment with rat peripheral blood stem cells, this clinical trial will investigate the safety and effect of single-dose intra-articular injection of gm-PBSC on osteoarthritis in the knee joints of patient whose peripheral blood had been collected and stored after receiving G-CSF injection. Enhance Biomedical will enroll volunteers or patients who have received PBSC harvest treatment before or agree to receive PBSC harvest treatment in the future before osteoarthritis cell therapy. A total of 10 subjects will be enrolled, of whom, five will be randomized to receive gm-PBSC only, and five of them will receive both gm-PBSC and hyaluronic acid (HA).


This clinical trial (titled “Cell therapy with peripheral blood stem cell in Osteoarthritis”) received CDE approval in February and TFDA phase I approval on November 20 in 2018.


Clinical trial public information:

https://www1.cde.org.tw/workflow/ct_taiwan/search_case2.php?caseno[0]=2604


Contact Us Now

颖奕生医与台北荣民总医院产学合作
「利用自体周边血干细胞治疗骨关节炎疾病之临床试验计画」
开始进入临床收案

退化性关节炎患者有福了!颖奕生医与台北荣民总医院产学合作的「利用自体周边血干细胞治疗骨关节炎疾病之临床试验计画」即日起开始进入临床收案,将为退化性关节炎患者提供新选择!


骨关节炎(又称退化性关节炎)是最常见的慢性退化性疾病之一,也是一种关节软骨的持续性病变,它经常影响膝关节,导致其关节软骨随着时间的推移而恶化。根据台湾卫福部统计,国人膝关节退化的盛行率约15%,约有350万人饱受关节疼痛之苦。美国65岁以上罹患退化性关节炎比例约佔总人口数的74%(Baird, Schmeiser, & Yehle, 2003)。根据世界卫生组织1998年的报告,西元2025年世界上将有近高达25%的人口因骨关节问题而导致行动不便。


由于现代人平均寿命日趋提高,一生当中罹患退化性关节炎几乎不可避免,如何减轻或治癒退化性关节炎,再次享受正常的生活及运动,是一项重要的课题。现行治疗退化性关节炎的保守方法侷限于基本的药物止痛、保健品服用、玻尿酸注射、高浓度血小板注射等,均仅能产生暂时缓解的作用,并无治疗效果;而积极方法如全关节置换则术后恢復时间长、风险高且年限只有15年,无法一劳永逸;若採用自体软骨修復则需要进行两次手术,组织结构的耐受力又十分有限,也容易造成其他部位的损伤。


现在,自体周边血干细胞关节腔注射对于退化性关节炎的治疗可望带来更好的结果!其机转在于周边血干细胞内含有许多间质干细胞、造血干细胞、前趋细胞等数量及种类丰富的干细胞群,这些细胞都属于具分化能力的多潜能干细胞(Multipotent stem cell)。间质干细胞是修復软骨组织的有力工具,因为它们能够分化成许多结缔组织,如脂肪、软骨、造骨细胞等,亦具有自我更新能力、可塑性及抗炎作用,适合应用于关节腔注射治疗退化性关节炎适应症;造血干细胞是制造人体血液、骨髓与免疫系统内的主要成分,如运输氧气的红血球、帮助凝血的血小板、抵抗感染的白血球、产生抗体的淋巴球等;前趋细胞则可针对受损细胞进行有效修復及更新。


过去的研究已知注射白血球生长激素(G-CSF)可以增加周边血干细胞的含量,临床上亦证实以周边血干细胞作为细胞治疗为一临床上便利且安全的治疗手段。颖奕生医于2012年2月开始与臺北荣民总医院产学合作「利用G-CSF所驱动之周边血干细胞治疗退化性关节炎之临床前试验计画」,2013年2月进入「利用G-CSF所驱动之周边血干细胞治疗退化性关节炎之临床试验计画」,并于2014年3月发表动物实验成果论文「Cell therapy with G-CSF mobilized stem cells in a rat osteoarthritis model」于线上国际期刊Cell Transplantation。此论文学理证明,注射G-CSF可以增加大鼠周边血干细胞之含量,且此大鼠之周边血干细胞经收集冷冻后,当解冻注射入以酵素诱导之骨关节炎的大鼠之膝关节时,有助于膝关节炎之修復。此外,研究结果亦指出玻尿酸加自体周边血干细胞比单独使用玻尿酸的大鼠,在体外试验中更能抑制大鼠骨关节炎的恶化。


除了动物实验得到正面成果以外,人体试验案也有类似的佐证。2010年一个马来西亚研究团队开始执行临床试验,利用关节镜手术在受损的膝盖软骨组织钻孔,再注入富集化周边血干细胞产品,透过MRI扫描来评估术后恢復程度,2013年发表结果显示,受试者的软骨再生情况良好,其品质接近正常软骨组织,能有效地减少因软骨缺失导致硬骨之间的磨损,而且没有产生细胞相关的不良反应。透过上述经验,显示周边血干细胞在治疗的过程中,有显着的有效性,包括软骨再生的体积及品质均能恢復至接近正常软骨组织,而且使用周边血干细胞作为软骨再生的来源并没有安全性的疑虑。


因此本临床试验计画建构于过去类似之人体试验案正面结果以及本公司实验室过去利用大鼠周边血干细胞治疗大鼠膝骨关节炎疾病之临床前试验计画之经验,将纳入先前已接受过及未来同意接受G-CSF富集化周边血收集以及储存之患者,进行10例骨关节炎疾病治疗之第一期临床试验,一组患者(五人)将施打干细胞,一组患者(五人)将施打干细胞与玻尿酸,以了解自体周边血干细胞的安全性及疗效。本临床试验计画于2018年2月通过财团法人医药品查验中心(CDE)送件前咨询审核,并于同年11月20日通过卫生福利部食品药物管理署(TFDA)审查,准予执行第一期人体临床试验,开始进入临床收案(计画名称:利用自体周边血干细胞治疗骨关节炎疾病之临床试验计画;计画主持人:黄东富医师)。


本试验为开放性、随机分派的膝骨关节炎临床试验,共将纳入10位单侧膝关节炎受试者。符合筛选条件之受试者,将被随机分配至接受周边血干细胞或是周边血干细胞与玻尿酸治疗。受试者纳入条件如下:

  • 年龄介于50至80岁间;
  • 经临床诊断及放射线学X光检查,证实为单侧慢性膝关节炎患者,且其严重程度依据Kellgren and Lawrence grade介于2-3之间;
  • 已接受过G-CSF富集化周边血收集以及储存之患者,且同意提供自体G-CSF富集化周边血作为治疗;
  • 愿意配合避孕;
  • 受试者250mL之总收血量中,TNC>200x10^8 ;CD34+细胞数>60x10^6,且CD34+%>0.1%。

台湾药物临床试验资讯网 临床试验计画公开资讯: https://www1.cde.org.tw/workflow/ct_taiwan/search_case2.php?caseno[0]=2604


立即联络我们了解详情