What are mesenchymal stem cell-derived exosomes?

"Exosomes" are small bubbles secreted by cells. Many cells secrete "exosomes" into the surrounding microenvironment. Recent studies have shown that "exosomes" play a role in intercellular communication and can even affect distant cells or tissues by being released into the blood circulation.

Cells are like logistics centers, and "exosomes" are vehicles for delivering goods, controlling the delivery of goods to the right place at the right time, including delivering to nearby or far-end cells or tissues.
These nanovesicles, about 30-150 nm in size, carry proteins like hormones or DNA, RNA, and miRNA that contain genetic information, and transmit these instructions to other cells, regulating the behavior of other cells.

So, what are the messages transmitted by cells in the body through "exosomes"? For example, when skin cells are abnormal, they will release "exosomes" to seek help from other cells, allowing healthy cells around them to repair the problem. There are more things that stem cells could use "exosomes" to perform, such as anti-inflammatory, cell proliferation, tissue repair and regeneration, inhibition of cell apoptosis, reduction of tissue fibrosis, etc.

In July 2020, the National Institutes of Health in Taiwan published a research paper on "New Breakthroughs in Neurogenesis". The team found that when the "exosomes" of stem cells were injected into the brain-damaged mice, the damaged nerve cells grew synapses again, and the number of nerve cells could be restored to 60% of the original. This research subverts the traditional cognition that "nerves cannot be regenerated", and diseases such as brain damage or neurodegeneration will have a chance to be cured in the future.

Dr. Shiaw-Min Hwang, the host of the Taiwan Stem Cell Bank Program, indicates that,  for example, human amniotic fluid stem cells belong to mesenchymal stem cells, and the "exosomes" secreted by them can activate the neuronal survival-promoting pathway and stop the apoptosis pathway. In other words, AF-MSCs are expected to change the problem of poor stroke prognosis by protecting neurons and controlling the process of neuronal cell death.

A number of studies have proved that the power of stem cells is not only the ability to differentiate, but also regulate the growth of specific cells and perform immune regulation through "exosomes", which play an important role as signal transduction in immune, cardiovascular, and neuronal cells.

什麼是間質幹細胞衍生的外泌體

「外泌體」(exosome)是細胞向外分泌出來的小泡泡,許多細胞皆會分泌「外泌體」至周遭的微環境中,近年研究顯示,「外泌體」扮演著細胞間溝通的角色,甚至會藉由釋放至血液循環中來影響遠端的細胞或組織。


細胞就好比是物流中心,而「外泌體」是要運送貨物的載具,控制著貨物在正確的時間送到正確的位置,包括送到隔壁或遠端的細胞或組織內。


這些大約30-150 nm的奈米小囊泡,攜帶著像是賀爾蒙的蛋白質或含基因訊息的 DNA、RNA、miRNA,將這些指令傳遞到其他細胞,調控著其他細胞的行為。


那麼,體內細胞藉由「外泌體」傳遞的訊息是什麼?舉例來說,當皮膚細胞出現異常情形時,就會釋出「外泌體」,向其他的細胞求救,讓周遭健康的細胞到有問題的地方修復;而幹細胞利用「外泌體」做到的事情就更多了,像是抗發炎、細胞增生、組織修復再生、抑制細胞凋亡、減少組織纖維化等。


2020年7月,台灣國家衛生院曾發表一篇關於「神經再生新突破」的研究論文。該團隊發現,對大腦受損的小鼠注射幹細胞的「外泌體」時,觀察到受損的神經細胞再次長出突觸,神經細胞的數量可恢復到原本的6成。此研究顛覆了”神經無法再生”的傳統認知,未來腦損傷或是神經退化等疾病將有被治癒的機會。


台灣幹細胞庫計畫主持人黃效民博士舉例,人類的羊水幹細胞屬於間質幹細胞,其分泌的「外泌體」,可以活化神經元的促生存途徑、停止細胞凋亡的途徑,也就是說,羊水幹細胞有望透過保護神經元和控制神經元細胞死亡過程,改變中風預後差的問題。


多項研究已證實,幹細胞的強大,不僅僅是分化能力,還能藉由「外泌體」調控特定細胞生長、進行免疫調節,作為在免疫、心血管、神經細胞的信號傳導,發揮重要作用。