Stem cells are a group of cells with multi-directional differentiation and self-replication ability.

A cell that turns into a variety of different functions is "multidirectional differentiation"; a cell becomes several to ten million cells, which is "self-replication." During embryonic development, stem cells differentiate into a wide variety of cells and further form various complex tissues and organs. After the individual matures, the stem cells still exist in various parts of the body, including the brain, heart, bone marrow, teeth, peripheral blood, fat, etc., to function as cell renewal and damage repair of tissues and organs.

Stem cells can be divided into four categories based on differentiation potential:

1. Totipotent stem cells

A totipotent stem cell refers to a stem cell that has "complete ability." It can differentiate into any adult tissues and can gradually develop into a complete individual. For example: fertilized eggs.

2. Pluripotent stem cells

The pluripotent stem cells can form cells of various tissues of the human body, but cannot develop into individuals by themselves. For example: embryonic stem cells.

3. Multipotent stem cells

Multipotent stem cells can only differentiate into cells of certain tissues, such as hematopoietic stem cells, which can differentiate into blood cells and immune cells. Such stem cells are not free to develop into other tissues and intact individuals.

4. Unipotent stem cells

Unipotent stem cells can only differentiate into a single cell, but still have the ability to self-renew, for example, lymphoblasts can differentiate into lymphocytes. Unipotent stem cells are also known as precursor cells, progenitor cells, or blasts.


Stem cells can be divided into two categories based on the sources of acquisition:

1. Embryonic stem cell

The source of embryonic stem cells is the cell mass in the embryo, which is distinguished by the ability to develop into a variety of different cellular tissues required for a complete living individual. However, embryonic stem cells have few sources of acquisition, and there are also risks such as cell variability and carcinogenicity, and involve very large moral controversies. Currently, only a very small range of studies are allowed in countries around the world.


2. Adult stem cells

Adult stem cells are cells that remain in fetal and adult tissues and organs and still retain the ability to grow and differentiate into other cell types. After people being born, adult Stem Cells (ASCs) maintain their health and function. Under normal circumstances, adult stem cells are at rest. When the human body is damaged, adult stem cells will become precursor cells of the injured site and repair damage. Since adult stem cells do not involve moral and ethical problems, and they will not cause immune rejection in the future, the current research direction in the world is mainly adult stem cells.


There are many types of adult stem cells, among which hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) and mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) have been studied for many years. The main function of hematopoietic stem cells is to differentiate into different blood cells including red blood cells, platelets and various white blood cells. The main function of mesenchymal stem cells is to differentiate into cells other than blood cells, such as bones, fat, muscles, nerves and the like.


Adult stem cells exist in various organs and tissues of the body. Among them, a large number of cells (both hematopoietic stem cells and mesenchymal stem cells) can be obtained in the bone marrow. However, direct extraction of bone marrow requires general anesthesia with high invasiveness and hospitalization observation. The recovery is slower and the risk is greater. The rest are stem cells obtained by collecting cord blood or peripheral blood. The former is limited by the amount of cord blood, although cord blood also contains hematopoietic stem cells and mesenchymal stem cells, the amount of cells is small because of the small amount of blood.


Peripheral blood stem cells (PBSCs) are currently obtained by first applying G-CSF to mobile stem cells to move out of the bone marrow and release them into the peripheral blood, so that the number of stem cells in the peripheral blood is increased by a hundredfold, and then separate stem cells using peripheral blood stem cell apheresis system. This process is similar to blood donation with high safety, great number and variety of cells obtainment, good quality, wide application and low side effects. Therefore, the source of adult stem cells is mainly from peripheral blood collection.


In addition to adult stem cells, VSEL™ (Very Small Embryonic-like Stem Cells) has attracted worldwide attention in recent years. In 2006, Dr. Mariusz Ratajczak, director of the Stem Cell Research Institute at the James Graham Brown Cancer Center at the University of Louisville in the United States, discovered that there is a rare number of pluripotent stem cells in the bone marrow, which are very small and have the differentiation ability similar to Embryonic Stem Cells (ESC). Therefore, it is named VSEL™ (Very Small Embryonic-like Stem Cells). Scientists have found that VSEL™ has been stored in the human body from a dormant state during embryonic development. When the body tissue is injured, it mobiles to the peripheral blood to help repair damaged tissue, and has the ability to rebuild multiple tissues. . Many clinical trials in the United States have also demonstrated that VSEL™ can repair damaged myocardium in patients with myocardial infarction. Scientists believe that VSEL™ can achieve the same positive benefits of embryonic stem cells without falling into the ethical and moral dilemmas of embryonic stem cells. The relevant technology and patents of VSEL™ are exclusively owned by Caladrius Biosciences worldwide.


Comparison of stem cells commonly asked

At present, the market is full of different sources and information of stem cells. Inaccurate and asymmetric information has caused great risks and application restrictions. Embryonic stem cells have the risk of allogeneic rejection and canceration and have great moral controversy; iPS can not control the speed and quantity of cell differentiation and could lead to cell mutation; adipose stem cells have great risks of surgery and postoperative complications and limited effect, etc.

幹細胞是一類具有多向分化及自我複製能力的細胞族群

一種細胞變成各種不同功能的細胞,是為「多向分化」;一個細胞變成數個至千萬個細胞,是為「自我複製」。胚胎發育過程中,幹細胞分化成各式各樣的細胞,並進一步構成各種複雜的組織和器官。個體發育成熟後,幹細胞仍存在於身體各個部位中,包括腦、心臟、骨髓、牙齒、周邊血、脂肪等,肩負組織與器官的細胞更新及損傷修復之功能。

依幹細胞的分化潛能可分為以下四大類:

1. 全能幹細胞(Totipotent stem cell)

全能幹細胞指具有「完全能力」的幹細胞。它能分化成人體各組織,並能逐漸發展成一個完整個體。例如:受精卵。

2.萬能幹細胞(Pluripotent stem cell)

萬能幹細胞能形成人體各組織的細胞,但無法獨自發展成為個體。例如:胚胎幹細胞。

3.多能幹細胞(Multipotent stem cell)

多能幹細胞只能分化成某些特定組織的細胞,如造血幹細胞(hematopoietic stem cell)可分化成血球及免疫細胞。此類幹細胞並無法隨意發展成其他組織及完整個體。

4. 單能幹細胞(Unipotent stem cell)

單能幹細胞只能分化成單一細胞,但仍具有自我更新的能力,例如淋巴幹細胞可分化成淋巴球。 單能幹細胞又稱前趨細胞、芽細胞或是母細胞。


依幹細胞的獲取來源可分為以下二大類:

1. 胚胎幹細胞

胚胎幹細胞的來源為胚胎內之細胞團塊,其珍貴之處在於具有能力發展成一個完整生命個體所需之各式各樣不同的細胞組織。然而胚胎幹細胞獲取來源少,亦存在細胞變異及致癌性等風險,且涉及非常大的道德爭議,目前世界各國只允許極小範圍的研究。


2. 成體幹細胞

成體幹細胞是存留於胎兒和成人組織器官中,仍保有生長並分化成其他種類細胞能力的細胞。當人呱呱墜地後,是成體幹細胞(Adult Stem Cell,ASCs)在維持身體的健康及正常運作。正常情況下成體幹細胞處於靜止狀態,當人體出現損傷,成體幹細胞會變成受傷部位的前趨細胞,修復損傷。由於成體幹細胞沒有涉及道德倫理上的問題,以及未來用在自體身上也不會引發免疫排斥的困擾,目前世界的研究方向以成體幹細胞為主。


成體幹細胞有很多種類,其中造血幹細胞 (HSC, hematopoietic stem cells) 以及間質幹細胞(MSC, mesenchymal stem cell) 已有多年研究的成果。造血幹細胞的主要功能為分化成不同的血球:包含紅血球、血小板跟各種白血球等。間質幹細胞主要功能為分化成血球以外的細胞,如骨頭、脂肪、肌肉、神經等。


成體幹細胞存在身體各器官組織中,其中在骨髓可以得到數量多且種類多的細胞(造血幹細胞與間質幹細胞都有),不過相對的,直接抽取骨髓需全身麻醉,侵入性高且需住院觀察,恢復較慢,風險較大。其餘像是透過採集臍帶血或是周邊血得到的幹細胞,前者礙於臍帶血量的限制,雖然臍帶血也同時含有造血幹細胞與間質幹細胞,但因血量少,所以細胞數量也少。


周邊血幹細胞目前取得方式是先施打G-CSF白血球生長素驅動幹細胞從骨髓移動出來並釋放到周邊血液中,使得周邊血液中幹細胞數量提升至百倍,再使用周邊血液幹細胞分離術,將幹細胞分離出來。此過程類似捐血,安全性高,得到的細胞數量及種類多及品質佳,應用廣且副作用低,所以目前成體幹細胞的來源以採集周邊血為主。


除了成體幹細胞之外,VSEL™(Very Small Embryonic-like Stem Cells非常微小類胚胎幹細胞)近年來正受到全球研究人員的矚目。2006年,美國路易斯維爾大學James Graham Brown癌症中心幹細胞研究所主任Mariusz Ratajczak博士發現骨髓中存在著一類數量稀少的萬能幹細胞,其體積非常小,具有類似胚胎幹細胞 (ESC, Embryonic Stem Cells) 的分化能力,因此命名為VSEL™(Very Small Embryonic-like Stem Cells非常微小類胚胎幹細胞)。科學家發現,VSEL™從胚胎發育時期就一直以「休眠狀態」儲備在人體內,當身體組織有受傷的情況下,它就會遊移到周邊血中幫助修復受損組織,具有重建多種組織的能力。許多美國的臨床實驗也證明VSEL™可以修復心肌梗塞患者受損的心肌。科學家相信VSEL™能達到胚胎幹細胞相同的正面效益,卻不會落入胚胎幹細胞的倫理及道德困境。VSEL™的相關技術與專利為Caladrius Biosciences全球獨家所擁有。


常見幹細胞的比較

目前市場上充斥著許多幹細胞的來源及訊息,不正確及不對稱的資訊存在極大的風險及應用上的限制。胚胎幹細胞有異體排斥及癌化的風險且道德爭議大;iPS誘導型幹細胞無法控制細胞分化的速度及數量易導致細胞變異;脂肪幹細胞則存在著極大的手術及術後併發風險以及效果有限的問題等。